Fall Break…Down

While we are blissing ignorantly under the rays of tropical sunlight during summer vacation, our fine educators are sinisterly collaborating to plot the allotted weeks that test the sanity of any parent. Yes, I am talking about those week long hiatuses from school the devious educators deceivingly dubbed “breaks”. Maybe it is short for breakdown since I, like most parents, lack the skills to survive a week with children who are perpetually bored and not easily amused.

The following is a true account of how I survived one of these sinisterly plotted weeks – Fall Break 2010 (aka Death Camp).

Day 1

 I woke to the sound of distant shrills and quickly realized I was unprepared and unarmed. I threw the blanket over my head hoping it would act as a suit of armor (or at the very least the old adage, if I can’t see them, they can see me, would come into play). They screamed their “I’m bored” battle cry as they charged down the hall. “What’s for breakfast?” They asked – the blanket didn’t work so I got up, faced the enemy and started the first day of Death Camp.

Day 2

I have to shower. I turn on the water, slip under the warm, relaxing droplets and hear a stampede. A rumble that shook the pictures – thumps against the wall – bodies hit the floor and cry uncle. The thumps become closer to my bathing sanctuary. I turn off the water and hear another stampede – a retreat. I prepare myself and open the bathroom door – I see nothing. All is quiet. Did I imagine it or are they that good?

Day 3

I wear my dark circles like war paint and my emotional scars like purple hearts as I went into day 3 confident I would wear down the enemy. We fought on home territory. We battled at the park. We fought the great battle at pumpkin patch. The enemy shows no sign of fatigue, so I hide in my trench – my dark circles darker, my emotional scars deeper and my confidence demolished.

Day 4

Too tired to write – must rest.

Day 5

I survived. I walk away with only a few bald spots and a twitch. Though I will need extensive therapy for the Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, I will not let it interrupt my training for when the enemy returns in the spring. I will be victorious, I will conquer the enemy’s insatiable hunger for entertainment and I…will find better hiding places.

Click here to join the Hush-Hush community!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karyn Climans
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 12:01:16

    I used to plan an excursion every day during school breaks … somewhere they could run, scream and get their willies out!

    Reply

  2. Rhonda
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 13:36:10

    Forget preparing for Spring Break… what about that darn near 2 week break at Christmas! At least Fall Break the weather is decent enough to escape outdoors. Old Man Winter is not as forgiving!

    Reply

    • Torie Combest
      Nov 03, 2010 @ 22:31:07

      I don’t worry about the holiday breaks as much because we are shopping, baking, decorating – just busy and I don’t notice their craziness. But spring and fall breaks don’t bring as much to do. However, at the end of the holiday break I am so ready for school to start. lol.

      Reply

  3. MusingMom
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 14:39:34

    I had an interesting fall break but not bad.

    I like your button, add it to my blog roll on musingsmom.blogspot.com

    Reply

  4. Lila
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 17:37:49

    From one battle weary mom to another, thank god for school! Sometimes when we’re home, I can successfully keep them occupied, but on the days I don’t get a head start, they beat me handily!

    Reply

  5. Bibi
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 19:13:21

    Luckily we don’t have Fall break, but I am already stressing out about the cold and ugly two weeks of Winter break.

    Stopping by from Sits!

    Reply

  6. JDaniel4's Mom
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 15:32:25

    I have found that if I tell my two year old I am cocooning in hopes of becoming a butterfly I get a little more time in bed.

    Reply

  7. Michelle Saunderson
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 11:52:38

    My kids get to go with their Dad all of Thanksgiving weekend, so I am off the hook. He also gets them for a whole week during Christmas break too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

